Nourhan N. Beyrouti

  • 07:11:00 pm on August 18, 2013 | 0
    Tags: , ,

    The Gatekeepers & How Companies Are Keeping Away From Innovation.

    With all the social media breaking walls of society and getting people more  connected. I have noticed that individuals and companies have been more and more locked away in a social media prison cell. Community managers and individuals handling incoming communication or connection requests are now in the category of the gatekeepers who keep away people rather than listen to them.

    This growing phenomenon is from a personal experience, when trying to get heard by companies or individuals that I have information for. You might not know me, but that does not mean i don’t have something you want to hear. The problem lies with the people who are tasked to handle these incoming responses, they personally and psychologically think that they know what is best for the company or the individual I am trying to reach. I work in communications, specifically in branding. I believe when a person is solely coming to you for something, that means they truly believe in your brand whether it is a personal brand or a corporate brand. When I got shut out from all the people and companies I tried to reach, I honestly believed these people have a mission to keep the company away from good ideas.

    People are people, and not everyone in the world is privileged with being a high ranking executive or a billion dollar bank account, most of the people want a humble life with a morning to wake up to and a thing they do everyday that they love. I am sure that these gatekeepers don’t know that it is a proven fact that; Humans when ignored, gives the same traumatic effect like a physical injury. Ignoring a mention on twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn causes that trauma. The most is when you don’t get a response by an email or a lucrative mechanical response from someone in the company who has nothing to do with the companies future growth. Do companies know how many people they injure daily and how many causalities there are out there, trying to reach out to them? Companies today are embarking into social media, thinking this is a new Marketing tool that helps bring the customer closer and level up loyalty to the brand. What companies failed to understand to this day is that social media is exactly what it means ” Social ” and that’s based on socio-emotional elements to it. Social media has given an embodiment to your brand, given it physical ear and eye to hear and see what people are saying and showing. Mechanical responses and robotics do not make your life easier when you decided on becoming a part of this worldwide phenomenon.

    Let’s take for example my case, I have three darn good idea for three companies very famous to the world. I just want them to give me a chance to hear me out for exactly 10min. Can you imagine, I’m not asking for the stars, just ten minutes of an open ear. I know big shot CEO’s I’ve reported to them for the past decade of my professional life, they can spare 10min to hear one person a day to get the creative juices flowing in the company, especially when traditional ways of doing things are dying out in a matter of minutes with new technology and innovation. I don’t know how to make all the financial forecasts and business plans for these technocratic people, all I’m asking for is to hear me out and you work out the numbers to make it happen, because I’m no expert CEO who’s done it before.You might say Mark Zuckerberg made Facebook from his dorm room or Steve & Woz made Apple in a garage, yes that’s true. However if you fast forward in time and think of it in another perspective, this is what could have happened to them.

    If Mark was an economics student, at Harvard. Living his daily life as a normal college student and one day he got a revelation about Facebook. I mean the whole nine yards. He doesn’t know how to code, algorithm, make a site or fund his site. What would he do? He’d be in the same situation I am in, no one is willing to hear him, gatekeepers will shut him out and his great idea of Facebook would just be locked up in his head. What if Mark went to Hi5 and said I can turn you around and make you a multi billion dollar company, listen to this ” We rebrand Hi5 into Facebook ” and it would do exactly this …, Hi5 now would have been the Facebook we know today, Mark would have gained the same fame he has now and the owners of Hi5 or MySapce would be richer and grander.

    In my case I am no developer, I can design the hell out of an App but can’y launch it with all its servers and capabilities, all I need is a VC or the three companies I’m targeting to give me those 10mins, I’ve got the visuals, I’ve got the design, I’ve got the whole works. I don’t have the ears to hear me out. Mind you, the three ideas only work for these three companies I cannot mention.

    If someone out there knows any VC, Angel or Direct contact with big companies who could get to the companies I am targeting let me know, we can sign an NDA and join forces and get make this dream come true, it’s actually the three companies dream come true as they are publicly looking for the answer to their problem, and I’ve found the solution.

    contact me on http://www.beyrouti.me

     

Leave a comment